©2010 Federation of New Zealand Netherlands Societies Inc. - Website created by La Marein Web Creations
Friendly Support Network Trust FSN
The Friendly Support Network of the Netherlands Community Trust

Commonly known as the FSN Trust. The Trust was established in August 1988 as a Charitable Trust. In accordance with the Trust Deed, the main aims of the Trust are to assist members of the Dutch community in New Zealand who need assistance and support because of age, bereavement, stress or other downturn in life, especially when these needs are aggravated by cultural or language differences.

The Trust is presently governed by 5 trustees. These are:

  • Chairperson: Jos Jongenelen; 3627 Cambridge Rd, Rotoorangi, Cambridge;
    ph. (07)) 827 3313; email josjon@xtra.co.nz

  • Treasurer - Dick Wouters

  • Secretary: Anne-Marie Knibbeler - 21 August St, Lower Hutt 5019; ph. (04) 971 7571;

  • Trustees:
  • Tonnie Geux
  • Heleen van den Brink

The Trust can be contacted through the Secretary or the Chairperson.

Support is mainly given by the volunteers who work through the branches of the Friendly Support Network, of which there are six: Auckland, Waikato/Hamilton, Tauranga, Manawatu & Central District, Wellington, and Canterbury. Contact details for the branches can be found on the next page.

These branches are societies in their own right and have regular activities to support their clients and the volunteers, who provide companionship and friendly support where needed. Some branches organise coffee mornings or other need-based activities.  Volunteers can also help with hospital and home visits and assistance with travel, as well as informally translating or helping to understand Dutch documents or papers.

The Trust manages funds and actively supports the FSN branches through financial assistance. The Trust may also decide to give a one-off grant to people who suffer particular hardship, and who are not eligible for any other assistance under N.Z. legislation.